World Rugby has admitted the controversial referee decision in the Australia-Scotland game was wrong. Referee Craig Joubert granted a late penalty in Sunday's game which resulted in Australia's 35-34 victory over Scotland. In a post-match review, the rugby world's official selection committee said Australia should have been granted a scrum rather than a penalty. "The selection committee confirms that Joubert applied World Rugby Law 11.7 penalising Scotland's Jon Welsh, who had played the ball following a knock-on by a team-mate, resulting in an offside," an official statement said. "On review of all available angles, it is clear that after the knock-on, the ball was touched by Australia's Nick Phipps and Law 11.3(c) states that a player can be put on-side by an opponent who intentionally plays the ball." But World Rugby clarified that "the referee could not refer to the television match official in this case and therefore had to rely on what he saw in real time."

Gill dropped, Kishan back for India's T20 World Cup title defence
Joshua delivers reality check to Paul with sixth-round KO
Dubai Capitals assert authority in 63-run win over Sharjah Warriorz
Head, Carey push England to the brink in Adelaide
Friday’s ILT20 game shifts from Sharjah to Dubai
