H.H. Sheikh Mohammed swears in new DIFC Courts judges


His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, has sworn in four new DIFC Courts judges.

The virtual swearing-in ceremony was attended by Dubai's Crown Prince, His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum as well as Deputy Ruler of Dubai, His Highness Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

Sheikh Mohammed affirmed the importance of raising the capabilities of the UAE judiciary and providing more leadership opportunities to young Emiratis in one of the government’s most important sectors.

He said developing Emirati talent in the judicial sector supports the government’s objectives of protecting the community and safeguarding people’s rights.

Sheikh Mohammed also praised the role of Emirati women in shaping the future of the country, saying they have repeatedly proven their competence in high-level positions.

The four DIFC Courts judges sworn in include: Court of First Instance Judge Nassir Hashim Nasser Abdulalla Al Nasser; Court of First Instance Judge Maha Khalid Mohammed Al Mheiri; Court of Appeal Judge Lord Angus James Scott Glennie; and Court of Appeal Judge Sir Peter Henry Gross.

Maha Al Mheiri is the first Emirati female judge to be appointed in the common law in the UAE. 

Al Mheiri and Nassir Al Nasser are graduates of the Emiratisation programme of DIFC Courts launched ten years ago.

More from UAE

Latest Local News