UAE women's rugby team earns 3rd place at Asia Rugby Sevens

Source: Asia Rugby

The national team beat hosts Indonesia to take the bronze medal place with a scoreline of 24-7.

Earlier in the tournament, the Emirati President of Asia Rugby Qais Abdulla Al Dhalai told Indonesia news agency Antara that this edition was the biggest Asian Rugby Sevens Trophy in history, with the participation of 19 teams, comprising 12 men's teams and seven women's teams.

"This is one of the biggest events in Asian history. We have never had 19 teams in one event," he stated.

"We, Asia Rugby, monitor [the development of rugby] in 36 countries in Asia," Dhalai remarked.

Singapore took the Asia Rugby Women's Sevens Trophy 2022, beating India 17-5 in the final.

A total of 19 teams from 16 countries -- Brunei Darussalam, Singapore, India, Indonesia, Pakistan, Thailand, Iran, Nepal, Jordan, the United Arab Emirates, Afghanistan, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, and Guam -- are participating in the 2022 Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy tournament.

More from Sports