Dubai Capitals defeat Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in ILT20


Dubai Capitals defeated Abu Dhabi Knight Riders by 85 runs in the eliminator of the DP World ILT20 season 2 at the Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Player of the Match Sikandar Raza hit 40 off 19 balls with five boundaries and one six to give the Dubai Capitals a winning total of 188 for 5.

Opener Tom Banton scored 44 off 31 balls with seven boundaries, Tom Abell, who contributed 41 off 29 balls with six boundaries and skipper Sam Billings, who remained unbeaten on 46 off 26 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. 

The Knight Riders were bowled out for 103 runs through splendid bowling displays from Scott Kuggeleijn (4 for 17) backed by Zahir Khan (2 for 25) and Sikandar Raza (2 for 27). The Knight Riders’ chase began on a badly, losing opener Jason Roy to the second delivery of the first over from Kuggeleijn for a duck. Opener Michael Pepper too fell in the second over to Olly Stone brilliantly caught by a diving Abell at cover for 5. 

Sikanda Raza

The Capitals further strengthened their position through Kuggeleijn forcing one-drop Joe Clarke to play into the hands of Leus Du Plooy for 13. Half the Knight Riders were back in dug-out when Laurie Evans, going for a sweep, was bowled by Zahir Khan for 7. 

"We thought that if we get 160, they have to bat really well to win. Once we got 188, all we had to do was to get wickets in the powerplay. And once we did that, we were always in the game," said Raza.

Capitals’ skipper Sam Billings added: “We have played a couple of games here. But getting yourself in is always tricky. If you can get past 10-15, you can get going. We thought 160-plus would be a very good score, and we were very happy with that score. They (Kuggeleijn and Stone) complement each other brilliantly. I am really happy with the way we have gone in the last three games. We are in a very good shape.”

Final scores:
Dubai Capitals 188 for 5 in 20 overs (Tom Banton 44, Tom Abell 41, Sam Billings 46n.o, Sikandar Raza 40, Sabir Ali 2 for 35)
Abu Dhabi Knight Riders 103 in 16.5 overs (Sam Hain 29, David Willey 36, Scott Kuggeleijn 4 for 17, Zahir Khan 2 for 25, Sikandar Raza 2 for 27).

More from Sports