Asia Cup: Dubai Police urge strict compliance with rules


Dubai Police are urging spectators to strictly adhere to safety and security guidelines at the Asia Cup cricket tournament, which kicks off on August 27.

The authority reiterated that only bona fide ticket holders will be allowed to enter the stadium and have also shared a list of items that will not be permitted inside the stadium.

These include remote-controlled devices (including drone cameras), glass tumblers or bottles, selfie sticks, umbrellas, radio communication devices, bikes or skateboards, and other usual, banned items such as sharp objects and fireworks.

Dubai will host 10 of the 13 Asia Cup fixtures, including the opening game on Saturday, the India-Pakistan header (August 28) and the final on September 11.

Gates will open three hours before the start of the matches.

The multi-purpose venue in Dubai Sports City has a seating capacity of 25,000 (expandable to 30,000) and is accessible by public transport while dedicated parking is available for fans who choose to arrive in their private vehicles.

The Dubai Sports Council (DSC) confirmed the city's readiness to safely host the matches.

"The UAE in general and Dubai, in particular, has gained the world’s confidence in its ability to host any event successfully. Dubai has set global benchmarks and is now a role model in hosting and organising major global sports events, such as cricket’s Twenty20 World Cup and the Indian Premier League at Dubai International Stadium," said Saeed Mohammed Hareb, Secretary General of the DSC.

Preparations for accommodating spectators at the Dubai International Stadium are complete.

Last week, Brigadier Rashid Khalifa Al Falasi, Acting Assistant Commandant for Operations Affairs in Dubai Police, reaffirmed the Events Security Committee’s (ESC) full readiness to secure the Asia Cup matches.

He said Dubai would deploy the latest technologies to secure the venue in collaboration with its key partners.

The nine-team Twenty20 tournament was shifted to the UAE from Sri Lanka, who retain the hosts' honour.

Dubai will host 10 matches, while three will be played in Sharjah.

More from Sports