India revises travel rules for international arrivals


India's health ministry has issued new protocols for international passengers arriving in the country from December 1.

It's mandatory for all passengers to submit the self-declaration form specifying their 14-day travel history and upload a negative PCR test report (72-hour validity) on the Air Suvidha portal before the journey.

Meanwhile, travellers from countries deemed 'at risk' will need to take a COVID-19 test on arrival and wait at the airport for the result.

If the result is negative, they will have to spend seven days in home quarantine and get tested again on Day 8 and self-monitor for a further seven days even if the result is negative.

Meanwhile, those who test positive on arrival will be moved to an isolation facility and their sample will be sent for genomic testing for the new Omicron variant.

The countries currently on India’s 'at-risk' list are European nations (including the UK), South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel.

Travellers from countries that are not on the 'at-risk' list will be allowed to leave the airport and shall self-monitor their health for 14 days post arrival.

A sub-section of the these passengers could be picked at random for post-arrival testing at the airport on arrival (cost will be borne by the Indian government).

Children under 5 years of age are exempted from both pre- and post-arrival testing.

However, if found symptomatic for COVID-19 on arrival or during home quarantine period, children shall undergo testing and will be treated as per the government's standard protocols.



More from International