Boris Johnson on track to become next British PM


Boris Johnson received the most number of votes in the opening MPs' ballot to select the next Conservative Party leader and British prime minister.

However Mark Harper, Andrea Leadsom and Esther McVey were the thee hopefuls that were eliminated from the race.

Johnson won 114 votes followed by Jeremy Hunt who got 43 and then Michael Gove with 37.

The seven remaining candidates will now move forward to the next round of voting which will tak place next week.  

The winner will succeed Theresa May

More from International