UAE suspends entry for travellers from 7 countries

iStock [illustration]

Starting November 29, entry of travellers from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Mozambique into the UAE will remain suspended.

The country’s National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) made the announcement on Friday.

Entry of travellers who were in these countries in the last 14 days before coming to the UAE is also suspended, however, flight operations will continue to transport passengers from the UAE to these seven countries. 

The suspension does not apply to UAE nationals, diplomatic missions, official delegations between UAE and the seven countries and golden residence holders.

The excluded category need to present a negative COVID-19 test result obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of the departure and another PCR test at the airport when arriving in the UAE. 

A 10-day quarantine and a PCR test on the ninth day of entering the country is required for UAE nationals, diplomatic missions and golden residence holders.

However, official delegations are required to quarantine at the airport until the test result is received for them to continue their mission in UAE without 10-day quarantine. 

Passengers from these seven countries can stay for 14 days in another country in order to enter the UAE. 

It's part of efforts by the authorities to contain the spread of a new COVID-19 variant.


More from UAE