UAE lifts ban on Emiratis travelling to 12 countries

iStock [For illustration]

Authorities in the UAE have lifted the ban on Emiratis travelling to certain African countries.

Starting from Sunday, February 6 (6 pm), UAE citizens who are fully vaccinated and boosted can travel to the 12 countries to which travel was previously prohibited.

These include Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Unvaccinated UAE citizens who are medically exempt from taking the COVID-19 vaccine will also be allowed to travel, in addition to humanitarian cases and those travelling for medical treatment.

The National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Management Authority (NCEMA) made the announcement in coordination with the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA).


More from UAE