Van Dijk, Miedema win PFA Player of the Year awards

Twitter / @PFA

Virgil van Dijk and Vivianne Miedema have won the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year awards.

Both the players are from the Netherlands.

Liverpool defender Van Dijk edged out Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Eden Hazard.

However, Sterling was awarded the men's young player prize.

Meanwhile, Arsenal women's forward Miedema trumped Steph Houghton, Nikita Parris, Keira Walsh, Erin Cuthbert and Ji So-Yun.

More from Sports