Morikawa seals Race to Dubai, DP World Tour Championship


Collin Morikawa has created history by becoming the first American to win The Race to Dubai and the season-ending DP World Tour Championship.

The 24-year-old finished three shots clear of Alexander Bjork and defending champion Mathew Fitzpatrick on a dramatic final day at the Jumeirah Golf Estates.

Meanwhile, overnight leader Rory McIlroy fell short with a disappointing round of two over par 74 over the Earth course.

Morikawa, who won this year's British Open, finished with a flawless round 66 including six birdies to top the leaderboard at 17 under par and win by three shots.

McIlroy held a one-shot lead going into the final day and looked set to become the first three-times winner of the event but the Northern Irishman made bogeys on the 15th, 16th and 18th holes to finish five shots behind Morikawa.

More from Sports