IPL 2019: Delhi, Kolkata register wins

@IPL/ Twitter

Delhi Capitals started their 2019 Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign with a 37-run win over Mumbai Indians at Wankhede Stadium.

Chasing a victory target of 214 on their home ground, Mumbai were dismissed for 176 in 19.2 overs.

Rishabh Pant hit a 27-ball 78, while South African Colin Ingram (47) and Shikhar Dhawan (43) also chipped in to guide the visitors to a big total.

Yuvraj Singh top-scored for Mumbai Indians with 53 off 35 balls.

Elsewhere, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) pulled off a dramatic six-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Needing 53 runs from the last three overs, Andre Russell changed the course of the match with some big hits as KKR sealed the 182-run chase with two balls to spare.

The Jamaican struck an explosive 19-ball 49 to spoil David Warner's IPL comeback. Warner had earlier top-scored for Hyderabad with 85 off 53 balls.

More from Sports