Football: Euro 2020 qualifiers set to kick off

Alexander Demianchuk\TASS via Getty Images

Euro 2020 qualifiers get underway on Thursday with 24 places up for grabs at next year's tournament.

UEFA's 55 nations have been split into five groups of six teams and another five groups of five.

Former champions Netherlands start their campaign with a home game against Belarus, while Belgium host Russia and Croatia take on Azerbaijan.

In other games, Scotland face Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland play Estonia, Austria lock horns with Poland and Slovakia take on Hungary.

All qualifying matches will be played between March and November 2019, with double-headers in March, June, September, October and November.

The tournament will be held in 12 countries across Europe between June 12 and July 12, 2020.

More from Sports