Indian state updates quarantine protocol for travellers from 'at-risk' countries

AFP (File Picture)

The Indian state of Maharashtra has announced a mandatory seven-day institutional quarantine for all passengers flying in from "countries at-risk".

They will also be required to take three RT-PCR tests - on the second, fourth and seventh days after arrival.

The decision, which will come into effect immediately, was made late Tuesday after six international passengers from "countries at-risk" tested positive for COVID-19.

According to the state's health authority, all six passengers were "either asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic", with their samples sent for genome sequencing. 

Meanwhile, all domestic travellers flying into Maharashtra will have to present a negative RT-PCR test report with 48-hour validity.

The list of "at-risk" countries includes European countries, the UK, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel.

More from International