Countries on Bahrain's 'Red List' banned from entering


Bahrain will be suspending entry for travellers from countries on its 'Red List' from Monday, May 24.

According to the Bahraini News Agency (BNA), this includes India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Nepal. 

Bahrain's Civil Aviation Affairs announced the decision based on the recommendations of the National Medical Taskforce for Combatting the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Bahraini citizens and residency visa holders will be exempt from the new rule, however, they will be required to present a PCR test before boarding the plane and must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival.  

Vaccinated and non-vaccinated passengers arriving from countries that are not on the red list must also present an approved PCR test certificate conducted no more than 48 hours prior to boarding. They must also undertake another PCR test on the tenth day of their stay, as well as quarantine for a period of ten days in their residence or at a licensed quarantine facility.

Meanwhile, travellers arriving from countries that are not included in the red list and hold a Bahrain-issued or approved vaccination certificate are exempted from taking PCR tests and quarantining on arrival. 

Those who hold a vaccination certificate issued by the United States of America, the United Kingdom, a member state of the European Union, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, or Singapore will be required to quarantine.

More from International